Spéir – Anna Mullarkey to Launch Solo Mini Album


Musician Anna Mullarkey to launch solo mini album commissioned by Galway 2020.

Spéir, a mini album by Galway musician Anna Mullarkey, inspired by the four seasons and their associated rituals and commissioned by Galway 2020 European Capital of Culture will be launched on 29 February.

The soundtrack for the Galway 2020 European Capital of culture programme, which will be available on Spotify, is aligned to the four fire seasons of Ireland’s ancient celtic calendar which structure the programme of events for Galway 2020, Imbolc, Bealtaine, Lughnasa and Samhain.

The mini album begins with “Waiting for Spring”, a track inviting us to join in the forthcoming festivities, as we wait for flowers to blossom and moods to brighten. It is followed by “Summer”, an uplifting yet slow moving piece about how it feels to be a bird flying. “Sky Dance” is the next track and was inspired by the French theatre company Gratte Ciel, whose aerialists danced in the sky above Eyre Square for the launch of Galway 2020 back in September 2019. We are then brought to the winter months with “Larger than Life”, a dark electronic piece that changes the mood completely.

Winter can be dark and troublesome, so the lyrics give some respite to this with “we are stronger when we come together”.  It may be dark, but we can get through it as a community. Finally, “Passing”, an ambient track to end the mini album, is a blissful surrender to the changing of seasons.  Galway 2020 will use the tracks across the year in various presentations of the programme.

Spéir is Anna’s first solo mini album following a successful 7-year stint as co-writer for the band My Fellow Sponges, during which time they released two albums, an EP and toured across Ireland and Europe.  Having grown up in the west of Ireland, Anna draws inspiration from the landscape for her compositions, which made her the perfect fit for this Galway 2020 commission.


Anna will embark on a solo tour around Ireland in the coming months, details of dates and venues will be available on her Facebook and Instagram pages.

Additional album info:

Mixed by Frankie J Pollard

Mastered by Liam King

Double bass: Sam Wright

Cello: Ciara O Connor

Flute: Gabrielle Gonzales

Cover art by Eimearjean McCormack


Listen Here