Music for Galway and Galway 2020 present


Crossing Borders
DATE 26 April, 24 May, 28 June, 27 September, 22 November, 2 April 2021
LOCATION Galway City
VENUE St Nicholas’ Collegiate Church
Image: Ray McDonnell

Abendmusik (meaning ‘evening music’) takes its name from the famous 17th Century Sunday afternoon concerts of St Mary’s Church, Lübeck, in northern Germany. Like its forbear, this new concert series for Galway offers the opportunity to hear vocal music on religious themes in a non-liturgical context, and in the historic church at the city’s heart.

Sacred and secular, old and new will be brought together, with five new commissions from Irish composers featuring alongside the finest music from centuries past. Some of Ireland’s most eminent ensembles and performers will take part alongside artists from around Europe.


Artistic Director, Mark Duley

Following the guidance issued by the Government of Ireland on 12 March in relation to new measures to contain Covid-19, Music for Galway and Galway 2020 made the decision to postpone these events

While we are extremely disappointed to have made these decisions, public health is our number one priority and we must follow Government advice.

Rescheduled dates will be advised, original tickets valid.

Explore Seasons