Rijeka 2020

Galway is the 61st region to take the title of European Capital of Culture and shares the 2020 designation with Rijeka in Croatia.

A coastal city located on the west coast of Croatia, Rijeka is similar in size, location, population and culture to Galway and is known for its bohemian atmosphere, rich culture and abundance of festivals. Its programme, The Port of Diversity, aims to enrich European cultural diversity and create a meeting place for Europeans coming from different backgrounds and to encourage the feeling of European citizenship.

The shared experience of the two capitals of culture, in terms of cultural vibrancy and historical connections, makes 2020 an exciting time to strengthen ties, create cultural opportunities and develop long-lasting relationships.

Visit the Rijeka 2020 Website

Find out more